Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare (and Waiting)

Downloading Update is a feature of modern gaming, especially on day one, it seems.  So, what better way to spend Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare’s release date than just downloading updates.

Anyway, that aside, this is the first Call of Duty game I’ve played on the PS4, or on the Playstation as a platform and, so far, I’m impressed by the setting – all futuristic, without being Titanfall, Gears of War or Halo (although, I really should pick up Titanfall 2 and Gears of War 4 at some point).

For the first time, as far as my CoD experience goes, multiplayer has a purpose, it’s still pretty much kill to progress, but with a whole backdrop of military progression.  It’s not a driven narrative, but it certainly helps you feel like you’re doing stuff for a reason.

My first multiplayer game saw me with a 6/12 K/D scorecard – pretty average for me when I get started.  I’m sure I’ll end up in the middle of the card as I go along.

As for the single player campaign – its early days, because I’m only just getting into it, but the whole militants wanting Earth gone and carrying out terrorist acts isn’t an original one, but I’m sure it’ll be fun to play through.

The benchmark for Call of Duty, however, will be, for me, the Modern Warfare trilogy (despite all that went on behind the scenes with the third one which, thankfully, ended up giving us Titanfall).  The single player story was exceptionally well crafted and, despite high hopes for Advanced Warfare, nothing has come close.

Anyway, there’s more enemies to kill and stuff later on.

